“Do any alters also do theatre?”

Therapists seem to like to try to turn every conversation to DID.  That annoys me, but I’m not going to get into that right now.

Yes, I have 2 alters that I know of who are involved in theatre.

One has actually been on stage at times.  She sometimes attends rehearsals (either co-consciously or by herself) and the same goes for practicing lines and blocking at home.  She has been there for performances as well.  It’s almost like having my own understudy.  I vividly remember one time she was “out” for a performance. My role was this very angry, vengeful monologue from a Greek tragedy.  I was somewhere behind her, watching from far away, and after she completed the monologue, I was so upset because I felt like it hadn’t been done the exact same way, so therefore in my mind it was ruined and negated my previous performances of this role.  But actually, no one had seemed to notice a difference in the monologue.  Truthfully, she got every word and movement correct.  It just felt different to me because I wasn’t the one doing it (I know alters are all parts of me, but you know what I mean.).   I don’t remember a lot after coming off stage that night.

The other handles more of the administrative side.  So for instance, when I’m an Assistant Director or when I’m the Director, she will be in the background, making sure emails get sent, making sure all notes are typed and organized and kept in the show binder…basically anything to do with paperwork or written communication or organizing (including making schedules) – she’s there to oversee and enforce.  Kind of like she does for everything else in my life.  But she is not a performer and she stays off the stage.

 

About healandsurvive

27 years old with an Associates Degree in social sciences. Diagnosed with Dissociative Identity Disorder, PTSD, OCD, anxiety. I also have been diagnosed with Vestibular Migraines and my everyday balance has taken a big hit, and I am basically off-balance and some level of dizzy 98% of the time. I enjoy painting, writing, acting, singing, reading, collaging, journaling; basically anything creative.
This entry was posted in Mental Illness, Theatre and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

