Stuff about eating and weight below

Everyone in this house is on a diet.  Two out of medical necessity, and one out of…wanting to look good plus be fit?

So every single day I am hearing about weight loss, how much exercise they did, the compliments they’ve received on their weight loss.  And if they gain a tiny amount back, I hear the laments.

And I’m just over here like…I can’t exercise.  I have gentle things I can do so as not to aggravate my chronic vestibular condition, but nothing that would count as true exercise.  Partially, no exercise where I could be injured if my balance suddenly went away – I am a fall risk these days.  It’s a struggle just to keep my weight at a somewhat steady level and not get back to where I was back when I gained a lot of weight in high school (and since then have never been able to shake all the extra weight).

So this house is beginning to feel like some weight loss competition, and they all compliment each other and I am in the room and…yeah, I know I’m overweight.  Yes, I’m happy for them.  Especially the ones that are doing so in accordance with doctor recommended lifestyle changes and who are reversing medical conditions.  But weight does not need to be a daily topic of discussion.  And then I become basically the garbage disposal – eating what they can’t or won’t.

To be fair, all they know about my struggle with weight and food is back when I was binge eating constantly and they kept saying they were going to lock the fridge and cabinets.

They don’t know anything else.  I guess it never occurs to them that it may be a touchy subject.  If not for the weight aspect, then the fact that I can’t exercise.

Apologies for the disjointed ramble if you read it.

About healandsurvive

27 years old with an Associates Degree in social sciences. Diagnosed with Dissociative Identity Disorder, PTSD, OCD, anxiety. I also have been diagnosed with Vestibular Migraines and my everyday balance has taken a big hit, and I am basically off-balance and some level of dizzy 98% of the time. I enjoy painting, writing, acting, singing, reading, collaging, journaling; basically anything creative.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

