Personal Space&Common Courtesy…They Still Exist…

It never fails to amaze me when people think that just because something looks different about a person, they are automatically allowed to say something to them or touch the different looking area of that person’s body.

Due to Trichotillomania when I was about 11, I now have no eyebrows and draw them in every day.  When I was a teenager, I used to get nasty comments all the time, and I became hyper-sensitive to even being looked at.  Now that I’m 25, I’ve gradually become used to it and it doesn’t bother me, though I do get the occasional question while someone comes right up into my face and stares at them.

My arms are scarred from years of self-harm.  Sometimes I even forget about the scars. They are old.  I don’t notice them, but others might.  They slip my mind until someone stares at them up close and then asks what happened while touching my arms.

Same with tattoos.  Just because I have a tattoo and it is visible does not automatically give anyone the right to come up and touch it.  By all means, ask what it means, etc.  But do not touch.

Just because something looks different about a person’s body, bear in mind it is still a body part that belongs to an individual, and it is not yours to touch.  The shocking thing is that it is mainly adults who make comments or touch.  And mostly strangers.

About healandsurvive

27 years old with an Associates Degree in social sciences. Diagnosed with Dissociative Identity Disorder, PTSD, OCD, anxiety. I also have been diagnosed with Vestibular Migraines and my everyday balance has taken a big hit, and I am basically off-balance and some level of dizzy 98% of the time. I enjoy painting, writing, acting, singing, reading, collaging, journaling; basically anything creative.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

