Memory That Brought me Back To This Site

I haven’t been on this site in a long time, so I decided to make a new blog dedicated to my experiences living with mental illness, as well as stigma or ignorance I have encountered or do encounter during my daily life.

I was reminded today of an instance years ago where I went to a center that matched individuals with disabilities up with potential jobs.  I was very nervous, so my father had come along with me and was sitting in the waiting room.  I went in and met with the man assigned to me.  He asked me to describe my mental illnesses, and when I got to Dissociative Identity Disorder, he asked, “Can you prove it?  Can you make one of them come out right now?” His tone was accusatory, and I felt like he was trying to get me to confess to something, as if I were on trial.  And making an alter come out is just not how it works.  This man was not there to judge me, he was supposed to be helping me by pointing out possible jobs I could get with my limitations.

That memory of stigma and ignorance is the thing that spurred me to create a new blog about this.

About healandsurvive

27 years old with an Associates Degree in social sciences. Diagnosed with Dissociative Identity Disorder, PTSD, OCD, anxiety. I also have been diagnosed with Vestibular Migraines and my everyday balance has taken a big hit, and I am basically off-balance and some level of dizzy 98% of the time. I enjoy painting, writing, acting, singing, reading, collaging, journaling; basically anything creative.
This entry was posted in Mental Illness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

